Pemberton Meadows, by Ed Witwicki
Locally grown farm fresh blueberries, by Ed Witwicki
Anderson Lake, by Ed Witwicki
Gates Lake, by Lara Wall
Pemberton Meadows, by Ed Witwicki


UPDATED: February 24, 2022: Evacuation Alert partly lifted. 

  • ...

Electoral Area C

Electoral Area C


Photo of Russell Mack
Russell Mack
Phone: (604) 452-2225
Cell: (604) 935-9098
Jan Kennett
Alternate Director
Outside Agency/Other Appointments
  • Howe Sound Community Forum
  • Pemberton Library Board
  • Pemberton – Lillooet Treaty Advisory Committee
  • Sea to Sky Highway Safety Committee

View all

Pemberton Valley / Mount Currie-D’Arcy Corridor

Population: 3,492 including First Nations communities (2021 Census)
Size: 5,570.39 square kilometers
Folio Count: 1,516
Taxable Property Assessment Total: $550,345,600
Average Taxable Property: $394,513

Electoral Area C is known for its spectacular beauty, characterized by numerous rivers, productive agricultural lands, and steep mountainous vistas. At about 5,600 square kilometers in size, Electoral Area C is the largest area in the regional district, and is also is the most populous. Area C is home to long-time residents with agricultural roots, young families new to the area, part-time residents, and the growing Líl’wat and N’Quatqua First Nations.

Electoral Area C enjoys a diverse economy with a focus on agriculture, tourism and forestry, but also supports a number of home-based businesses. The area shares a close and mutually supportive relationship with the Village of Pemberton.  Although the Pemberton Valley is known as the “Seed Potato Capital of Canada,” in recent years the agricultural industry has seen continued diversification to include cattle ranching, burgeoning small-scale organic farms, a vineyard, extensive equestrian facilities, food and accommodation providers, and other agricultural festivals and events, including the popular Slow Food Cycle Sunday.  

Electoral Area C lies in the centre of the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District, and is bounded to the North by Electoral Area A (Upper Bridge River Valley), to the east by Electoral Area B and the Thompson Nicola Regional District, to the south by Electoral Area D and the Fraser Valley Regional District, and to the west by Sunshine Coast, Powell River and Strathcona Regional Districts.

Meeting Information 

Electoral Area C: A Guide to Regulations and Bylaws



  • Pemberton Fringe
  • Pemberton Meadows
  • Mount Currie-D’Arcy Corridor (including Walkerville, Reid Road, Ivy Lake Estates, Owl Ridge, Poole Creek, Birken, Devine and Birkenhead Lake Estates)
  • Lillooet Lake Estates
  • Wedge Woods / Whistler-Pemberton Corridor

First Nations Communities

  • LÍl’wat Nation
  • N’Quatqua First Nation

Community Organizations

Category: Special Interest
Category: Service Clubs
Category: Service Clubs
Category: Environment
Category: Sports & Recreation
Category: Agriculture
Category: Environment

Upcoming Events

There are currently no upcoming events posted.


There are no news items that match your search criteria.


Nov 28, 2022 - Environment Canada has issued a special weather statement for:   Whistler, B.C. (082400)   Howe Sound, B.C. (082500) Current... Read more
Public Hearing or Meeting
Nov 15, 2022 - A Regular Meeting of the Electoral Area Directors (EAD) Committee will be held on Wednesday, November 30, 2022 at 10:30 a.m. at the SLRD Administration... Read more
Public Hearing or Meeting
Nov 15, 2022 - Notice is hereby given that the regular meeting of the Pemberton Valley Utilities and Services (PVUS) Committee on Thursday, December 1, 2022 at 1:00 PM has... Read more
Public Hearing or Meeting
Nov 14, 2022 - A Regular Meeting of the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) Board will be held on Wednesday, November 23, 2022 at 10:30 AM in the SLRD Administration... Read more
Other Notice
Nov 16, 2022 - Do you live in the Britannia Beach, Furry Creek, or South Squamish area? Do you want to have a meaningful impact on your community while gaining valuable skills and... Read more

Past Meetings

Permits / Applications

Date Name Type Documents
Jul 31, 2014 Pemberton Music Festival Temporary Use Permit Application Temporary Use Permit
Jul 31, 2014 Wedgemount Creek Temporary Use Permit Application Temporary Use Permit



Name Type Communities
Birkenhead Lake Estates Rezoning Planning & Building
  • Electoral Area C
Britannia Beach Play Park Replacement Project Recreation, Culture, Parks & Trails
  • All Areas
  • Electoral Area D
Cannabis Regulations Planning & Building
  • All Areas
Children's Nature Play Park Recreation, Culture, Parks & Trails
  • Electoral Area C
  • Village of Pemberton
Commercial Livestock Relocation Guide Emergency Management
  • All Areas


Year Title Area Report
2022 20220218_JasonCreekAssesment_BGC Electoral Area C Download
2022 FireSmart 65+ FAQ - Updated 24 Feb 22 District of Lillooet, Electoral Area A, Electoral Area B, Electoral Area C Download
2022 One Step at a Time - A Guide to Disaster Recovery All Areas Download
2021 Appendix 2 - Requirements for Rebrate Program from CRI FCFS Application Guide All Areas Download
2021 Area C & D Slides for 2021 Virtual FireSmart Seminars Electoral Area C, Electoral Area D Download
2021 Jason Creek GeoscienceReport_CordilleranGeoscience_2021 Electoral Area C Download
2021 SLRD RGS Monitoring Report 2016-2020 District of Lillooet, District of Squamish, Electoral Area B, Electoral Area C, Electoral Area D, Resort Municipality of Whistler, Village of Pemberton Download
2021 SLRD Community Risk Assessment All Areas Download
2020 Pemberton Valley Recreation Trails Master Plan Electoral Area C, Village of Pemberton Download
2020 SLRD All-Hazards Emergency Response Plan All Areas Download


Local Services

  • Birken Fire Protection
  • Birken Recreation Commission
  • D’Arcy Street Lighting
  • D’Arcy Water System
  • Devine Water System
  • Devine Waste Transfer Station (D’Arcy, Devine, Birkenhead Lake Refuse; Anderson Lake Garbage)
  • Pemberton Fire Protection
  • Pemberton Heights Fire Protection
  • Pemberton Meadows Fire Protection
  • Pemberton North Water System
  • Walkerville Dyking & Drainage

Sub-Regional Services (shared with the Village of Pemberton)

Other Sub-Regional Services

Regional Services

  • Building Inspection (Electoral Areas only)
  • Civic Addressing (Electoral Areas only)
  • Elections (Electoral Areas only)
  • Electoral Areas Community Parks (Electoral Areas only)
  • Emergency Planning (Electoral Areas only)
  • General Government Services
  • Land Planning & Zoning
  • Regional Growth Strategy (all Electoral Areas and municipalities except Electoral Area A)
  • Regional Transit Planning
  • Treaty Advisory Committee
  • Waste Management Planning

Recycling, Composting & Solid Waste Facilities

Upcoming Meetings

There are currently no upcoming meetings posted.

Home > About Us > SLRD Electoral Areas > Electoral Area C