Business Façade Improvement Grants Now Available in SLRD Electoral Areas A & B

Feb 08, 2021
Electoral Area A, Electoral Area B

Rebates of up to $5,000 available for storefront facelifts; Application deadline is May 31, 2021

SLRD Electoral Areas A & B – The Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) has secured funding from Northern Development Initiative Trust (NDIT) to provide support to commercial property owners in Electoral Areas A and B to invest in business façade improvements.

The Business Façade Improvement Program provides grant funding to eligible property and business owners located in Electoral Areas A (Upper Bridge River Valley) and B (rural Lillooet) of the SLRD to renovate, restore or redesign commercial building façades and storefronts. The goal of the program is to assist communities within SLRD Areas A and B in creating diversified, resilient and sustainable local economies.

“We appreciate the investment from Northern Development Initiative Trust, and we are pleased to be able to provide this incentive to local building owners. With these funds from NDIT, we are able to provide some much-needed assistance to rural businesses in a meaningful, practical way,” said Electoral Area A Director, Sal DeMare.

Through the program, a 50% reimbursement grant up to a maximum of $5,000 per project is available to improve the facades of commercial buildings, including improvements such as new siding, painting, new signage, murals, architectural features, lighting and awnings.

“This NDIT program can provide businesses with a needed boost, during difficult times, to improve their façades, which benefits the businesses and the surrounding community,” added Electoral Area B Director, Vivian Birch-Jones.

Applications for funding support must be received prior to the start of the improvements. The deadline to submit applications to the SLRD is May 31, 2021.

To find out more about this program, and to access the guidelines and application form, visit the SLRD website:

- 30 -

About the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District

Located in southwestern BC, the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) is a local government federation consisting of four member municipalities (the District of Lillooet, the District of Squamish, the Village of Pemberton and the Resort Municipality of Whistler) and four unincorporated, rural electoral areas (A, B, C, and D). Headquartered in Pemberton, which is the approximate geographic centre of the region, the SLRD delivers a wide range of local, regional and sub-regional services to approximately 42,665 residents (2016 Census).

Media Contact: 

Patricia Westerholm
Communications Coordinator
Squamish-Lillooet Regional District
Phone: 604.894.6371 x244

Inside the SLRD > News & Events > Business Façade Improvement Grants Now Available in SLRD Electoral Areas A & B