Contact Information

Allison Macdonald

Chief Election Officer
Telephone: (604) 698-6158
Email: amacdonald@slrd.bc.ca




  Latest Tweets

The next general local government election will take place on Saturday, October 20, 2018. 

This web page will be updated as more information becomes available.

Thinking of running for local office?

Within the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD), voters in each electoral area choose one director to serve on the SLRD Board and one school trustee to serve on the relevant School District Board (School District No. 74 - Gold Trail - Areas A and B; School District No. 48 - Howe Sound - Areas C and D). 

Residents living in one of the SLRD's four member municipalities (District of Lillooet, District of Squamish, Resort Municipality of Whistler, Village of Pemberton) elect a mayor and councillors in their respective muncipality. 

There are many good reasons to run for office—you might run to be actively involved in the local decision-making process, contribute your experience and knowledge to your community, address issues or lead change.

The Province of BC, in collaboration with the Local Government Management Association, Local Government Leadership Academy, and the Union of B.C. Municipalities, has compiled a variety of resources to provide information about the roles and responsibilities of elected local government officials. 

Thinking of running? Learn more here.

The most recent general local government election took place on Saturday, November 15, 2014. Historically in British Columbia, general local government elections were held every three years. This included elections for mayors, councillors, regional district electoral area directors, and school board trustees. Recent changes to the Local Government Act have increased the term of office from three years to four years beginning with the 2014 Election. Those elected will serve a four year term commencing December 2014 and ending November 2018. 

Key election dates

January 1, 2018Start of Election Period
September 4, 2018Nomination period begins
September 14, 2018Nomination period ends
September 14, 2018Declaration of Candidates
September 21, 2018Candidate Nomination Withdrawal Deadline
September 21, 2018End of Election Period (12:00 midnight)
October 10, 2018Required Advance Voting Opportunity
October 20, 2018General Voting Day
October 22, 2018Determination of Official Election Results
January 18, 2019Disclosure Documents Filing Deadline

Learn More