Regional Growth Strategy

About the SLRD Regional Growth Strategy

The Squamish-Lillooet Regional District Regional Growth Strategy Bylaw No. 1062, 2008 (RGS) was adopted by the SLRD Board in June 2010. The purpose of a regional growth strategy under the Local Government Act is to "promote human settlement that is socially, economically, and environmentally healthy and that makes efficient use of public facilities and services, land and other resources." Most of BC’s high growth regions – comprising 83 percent of the population – are using regional growth strategies to manage population change and guide decision-making and collaboration.

The RGS is an initiative of the SLRD (Electoral Areas B, C, and D), District of Lillooet, Village of Pemberton, Resort Municipality of Whistler and the District of Squamish; it provides a broad policy framework describing the common direction that the regional district and member municipalities will follow in promoting development and services which are sustainable, recognizing a long term responsibility for the quality of life for future generations. 

Regional Growth Strategy Bylaw

The Regional Growth Strategy presents a 20-year vision for the livability of the region, and supports collaboration across jurisdictions out to 2038 and beyond. The Regional Growth Strategy sets out goals and strategic directions to guide the future growth of the region and provides a land use framework for planning and action on common social, economic and environmental objectives. Successful implementation of the RGS depends on cooperation between the SLRD and member municipalities, and the ability of local plans, policies and programs to contribute to the regional planning goals identified in the RGS. 

SLRD Regional Growth Strategy Bylaw No. 1062 

Regional Growth Strategy Mapping

The RGS Settlement Area Mapping identifies the settlement types and provides the spatial context for growth management strategies. The purpose of this mapping within the RGS is to guide the land use and community planning processes by defining the long-term urban boundaries where they are known and assisting in delineating the defined non-settlement areas within the region. As such, there are two main settlement types – Settlement Areas (Urban and Non-Urban) and Non-Settlement Areas. Land use designations fall into these settlement types, as outlined below, and have been mapped to assist the implementation of Goal 1 of the RGS. These include:

Settlement Areas

  • Urban Areas – areas designated in Official Community Plans or otherwise identified for existing and future urban growth, including serviced rural residential areas that are contiguous with and functionally part of existing urban areas, but excluding non-settlement areas that have agricultural, environmental, open space, parks and protected areas, hazard lands and other limited use constraints. 
  • Non-Urban Areas – areas designated in Official Community Plans or otherwise identified as Master Planned Community, Rural Community and Serviced Residential settlements and for long-term low density Rural Residential land uses, excluding areas that have agricultural, environmental, open space, parks and protected areas, hazard lands and other limited use constraints. 

Non-Settlement Areas  

  • Lands designated as Agricultural Land Reserve (ALR), limited use, environmentally sensitive and hazard lands, parks, open space or protected areas, and Crown forest lands where major settlement development will be discouraged.

The Settlement Area Mapping provides a general guide for a regional settlement pattern that reflects a commitment to compact, complete, sustainable communities.


Regional Growth Strategy Amendments

Information on Regional Growth Strategy amendments, criteria and process is available here: 
Regional Growth Strategy Amendments