Regional Hospital Districts

Health care in British Columbia is governed, planned, and delivered by five regional health authorities. Electoral Areas A and B and the District of Lillooet are part of the Interior Health Authority. Electoral Areas C and D, the Village of Pemberton, the Resort Municipality of Whistler and the District of Squamish are part of the Vancouver Coastal Health Authority.  

All Squamish-Lillooet residents pay for the costs of building local hospitals and purchasing equipment through their property taxes, with the funds being administered by a regional hospital district. Regional hospital districts are governed by the Hospital District Act. Generally speaking, hospital districts exist to borrow funds and finance construction projects or equipment purchases at facilities within hospital district boundaries. 

​Squamish-Lillooet Regional Hospital District

​No longer active, the Squamish-Lillooet Regional Hospital District (SLRHD) is the previous regional hospital district. Its boundaries are contiguous with that of the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District. It was discontinued as an operational hospital district in 1996 when the provincial health regions were restructured. Although inactive, the old SLRHD must remain in existence until all the debt acquired for capital projects is retired, which is scheduled for 2014.

Annual Budgets and Financial Statements

Sea to Sky Regional Hospital District

Upon the boundary restructuring of the health regions in 1996, a new regional hospital district known as the Sea to Sky Regional Hospital District (SSRHD) was created. The boundaries of the SSRHD encompass Electoral Areas C & D and the member municipalities of Pemberton, Whistler and Squamish, with the SSRHD Board being composed of the SLRD directors from each of these areas and municipalities. 

Although the Sea to Sky Regional Hospital District does not operate any facilities, it does provide capital funding. This funding is cost-shared with the province paying 60 percent and the SSHRD paying 40 percent. The facilities that receive funding from the Sea to Sky Regional Hospital District are as follows:

Annual Budgets and Financial Statements


Thompson Regional Hospital District

Following the restructuring of the regional health authority boundaries in 1996, taxpayers in Electoral Areas A and B and the District of Lillooet began contributing to the Thompson Regional Hospital District which is administered through the Thompson-Nicola Regional District.  

Home > Services > Financial Services > Regional Hospital Districts