Regional Hospital Districts

Health care in British Columbia is governed, planned, and delivered by five regional health authorities. All Squamish-Lillooet residents pay for the costs of building local hospitals and purchasing equipment through their property taxes, with the funds being administered by a regional hospital district. Regional hospital districts are governed by the Hospital District Act. Generally speaking, hospital districts exist to borrow funds and finance construction projects or equipment purchases at facilities within hospital district boundaries. 

Taxpayers in Electoral Areas A and B and the District of Lillooet contribute to the Thompson Regional Hospital District which is administered through the Thompson-Nicola Regional District. 

Taxpayers in Electoral Areas C and D, the Village of Pemberton, the Resort Municipality of Whistler and the District of Squamish are part of the Sea to Sky Regional Hospital District (SSRHD). 

Home > Services > Public Safety & Health > Regional Hospital Districts