What is the SLRD?

The Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) is a local government federation, consisting of four municipalities (District of Lillooet, Village of Pemberton, Resort Municipality of Whistler and District of Squamish) and four unincorporated rural Electoral Areas (A, B, C and D), operating on the traditional territories of the Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish), St'át'imc and Líl'wat Nations. The SLRD’s mission is to enhance the quality of life of constituents through the facilitation of regional and community services for the benefit of present and future generations.

Headquartered in Pemberton, which is the approximate geographic centre of the region, the SLRD delivers a range of local, sub-regional and regional services to approximately 50,496 residents (2021 Census as certified by the Minister of Municipal Affairs).



Home > About Us > What is the SLRD?