New SLRD Board Sworn In

Dec 11, 2018
All Areas

Tony Rainbow, Area D Director, acclaimed as Board Chair; Jen Ford, Resort Municipality of Whistler Director, acclaimed as Vice-Chair

Pemberton, BC – The new SLRD Board of Directors was sworn in at the November 28 Board meeting.

Electoral Area D Director Tony Rainbow, who formerly served as Vice-Chair, was acclaimed as Board Chair, replacing outgoing Chair Jack Crompton. Jen Ford, Resort Municipality of Whistler (RMOW) Director, was acclaimed as Vice-Chair. Crompton will remain on the Board as one of the RMOW’s two Directors.

The SLRD is governed by a 10-member board of directors composed of four electoral area directors and six municipal directors (one director from the District of Lillooet, one director from the Village of Pemberton, two directors from the RMOW and two directors from the District of Squamish).

Electoral Area directors are elected by rural area voters during the General Local Elections (held most recently in B.C. on October 20, 2018) to serve a four-year term.

Municipal directors are first elected to their respective municipal council and then appointed by their council to serve on the regional district board.

The positions of chair and vice-chair are elected annually by the SLRD Board of Directors.

“I am honoured to be elected by my fellow Board members to serve as Board Chair, and would like to thank my colleagues for their support,” Rainbow said. “The Squamish-Lillooet Regional District is a diverse area and the Board is made up of dedicated individuals who are committed to working collaboratively to achieve our objectives,” he said. “I look forward to working with our returning Directors as well as the new Directors and leading the Board as Chair in the coming year.”

The current SLRD Board of Directors:

  • John Courchesne, Electoral Area A
  • Vivian Birch-Jones, Electoral Area B
  • Russell Mack, Electoral Area C
  • Tony Rainbow, Electoral Area D (Chair)
  • Peter Busse, District of Lillooet
  • Mike Richman, Village of Pemberton
  • Jack Crompton, Resort Municipality of Whistler
  • Jen Ford, Resort Municipality of Whistler (Vice-Chair)
  • Karen Elliott, District of Squamish
  • Doug Race, District of Squamish

In addition to serving on the SLRD Board, the Directors also serve on standing and select committees as well as on external boards, committees and commissions representing a broad range of issues. The full list of these appointments will be available on the SLRD website once confirmed.

SLRD Board meetings are generally held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 10:30 a.m. in the SLRD boardroom at 1350 Aster Street in Pemberton. Currently, the SLRD administration office, including the boardroom, is under renovation and during that period, Board meetings will be held at the Pemberton & District Community Centre. The meeting schedule, agendas and minutes are available on the SLRD website.


Media Contact: 

Patricia Westerholm
Communications Coordinator
Squamish-Lillooet Regional District
Phone: 604.894.6371 x239

Home > Inside the SLRD > News & Events > New SLRD Board Sworn In