Regional District Board Names Chair and Vice-Chair

Dec 03, 2019
All Areas

Directors Rainbow and Ford to continue in roles until December, 2020

Pemberton, BC – The Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) Board has elected its Chair and Vice-Chair positions for the coming year.

Electoral Area D Director Tony Rainbow was re-elected by the Board to the position of Chair and Resort Municipality of Whistler Director Jen Ford was re-elected by the Board to the position of Vice-Chair at the Board’s November meeting.

“I am honoured to continue to serve the SLRD as Board Chair,” said Rainbow. “I would like to thank my fellow directors for their confidence, and for their time and commitment to the Board,” he said. “I look forward to continuing to work together to achieve our objectives.”

The SLRD is governed by a 10-member board of directors consisting of four electoral area directors and six municipal directors (one director from the District of Lillooet, one director from the Village of Pemberton, two directors from the Resort Municipality of Whistler and two directors from the District of Squamish.

The positions of Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually by the SLRD Board of Directors.

The current SLRD Board of Directors:

  • Steven Oakley, Electoral Area A (Area A by-election to take place in early 2020)
  • Vivian Birch-Jones, Electoral Area B
  • Russell Mack, Electoral Area C
  • Tony Rainbow, Electoral Area D (Chair)
  • Peter Busse, District of Lillooet
  • Mike Richman, Village of Pemberton
  • Jack Crompton, Resort Municipality of Whistler
  • Jen Ford, Resort Municipality of Whistler (Vice-Chair)
  • Karen Elliott, District of Squamish
  • Doug Race, District of Squamish

In addition to serving on the SLRD Board, Directors also serve on standing and select committees as well as on external boards, committees and commissions representing a broad range of issues. The full list of these appointments for the coming year is available on the SLRD website.

SLRD Board meetings are generally held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 10:30 a.m. in the SLRD boardroom at 1350 Aster Street in Pemberton. The meeting schedule, location details, agendas and minutes are available on the SLRD website.

- 30 -


About the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District

Located in southwestern BC, the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) is a local government federation consisting of four member municipalities (the District of Lillooet, the District of Squamish, the Village of Pemberton and the Resort Municipality of Whistler) and four unincorporated, rural electoral areas (A, B, C, and D). Headquartered in Pemberton, which is the approximate geographic centre of the region, the SLRD delivers a wide range of local, regional and sub-regional services to approximately 42,665 residents (2016 Census).


Media Contact: 

Patricia Westerholm
Communications Coordinator
Squamish-Lillooet Regional District
Phone: 604.894.6371 x244

Inside the SLRD > News & Events > Regional District Board Names Chair and Vice-Chair