St'át'imc Nation

The St'át'imc are the original inhabitants of the territory which extends north to Churn Creek and to South French Bar; northwest to the headwaters of the Bridge River; north and east toward Hat Creek Valley; east to the Big Slide; south to the island on Harrison Lake and west of the Fraser River to the headwaters of the Lillooet River, Ryan River and Black Tusk.

The St'át'imc Nation is composed of eleven distinct and self-governing communities, including the Líl'wat Nation, which is a distinct Nation with linguistic, cultural, familial and political ties to the St'át'imc Nation. 

In 1998 a St'át'imc Chiefs Council was formed so that the communities could work collectively to advocate on various political topics including title and rights issues. The six northern St'át'imc communities (Sekw'el'was, T'ít'q'et, Tsal'alh, Ts'kw'aylaxw, Xaxli'p, and Xwísten) are also served by the Lillooet Tribal Council, and the five southern Stl'alt'imx communities (Líl'wat, N'Quatqua, Samahquam, Skatin, Xa'xtsa) are also served by the Lower Stl'atl'imx Tribal Council.  

A list of St'át'imc communities can be found below. For detailed, up-to-date information, we recommend that you contact the individual First Nations government or the St'át'imc Chiefs Council directly. 

Community Name





Líl'wat (Mount Currie)

PO Box 602

Mount Currie, BC  V0N 2K0 (604) 894-6115
N'Quatqua (Anderson Lake)

PO Box 88

D'Arcy, BC  V0N 1L0 (604) 452-3221

PO Box 610 

Mount Currie, BC  V0N 2K0

  (604) 894-3355
Sekw'el'wás (Cayoose Creek)

PO Box 484

Lillooet, BC  V0K 1V0 (250) 256-4136

PO Box 190

Pemberton, BC  V0N 2L0

  (604) 894-2490
T'ít'q'et (Lillooet)

PO Box 615

Lillooet, BC  V0K 1V0 (250) 256-4118
Tsal'alh (Seton Lake)

S-3, PO Box 76

Shalalth, BC  V0N 3C0 (250) 259-8227  
Ts'kw'aylaxw (Pavilion)

PO Box 2200 

Lillooet, BC  V0K 1V0 (250) 256-4204
Xaxli'p (Fountain)

PO Box 1330 

Lillooet, BC  V0K 1V0 (250) 256-4800
Xa'xtsa (Douglas)

PO Box 606

Mount Currie, BC  V0N 2K0 (604) 894-0020
Xwisten (Bridge River)

PO Box 190

Lillooet, BC  V0K 1V0 (250) 256-7423
St'át'imc Chiefs Council

PO Box 2218 

Lillooet, BC  V0K 1V0 (250) 256-0425


Lillooet Tribal Council PO Box 1420, Lillooet, BC  V0K 1V0 (250) 256-7523
Lower Stl'atl'imx Tribal Council PO Box 255, Mount Currie, BC V0N 2K0 (604) 964-0204
Home > About Us > First Nations > St'át'imc Nation