Squamish—Lillooet Regional District Board names new Vice-chair

News date
Applicable communities
All Areas
Resignation of Vivian Birch-Jones from Vice-chair position prompts election

Pemberton, BC – Electoral Area C Director, Russell Mack, has been elected to the position of Board Vice-chair, for the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) following the resignation of Electoral Area B Director, Vivian Birch-Jones, from the position.

Birch-Jones announced her resignation from the position of Vice-chair during the continuation of the June Board meeting, on June 27, 2024. She will remain as the Electoral Area B Director.

Mack takes over the position of Vice-chair, effective immediately.

“On behalf of the SLRD Board of Directors, I’d like to thank Director Birch-Jones for her work, and support, as Vice-chair,” said SLRD Board Chair, Jen Ford. “Serving in public office is demanding work and Director Birch-Jones is a steadfast advocate for her community, and the region,” said Ford. “I look forward to continuing to work with Director Birch-Jones on the SLRD Board, and welcome Director Mack to the position of vice-chair.”

“It has been an honour and a privilege to serve the SLRD as Vice-chair, and I have thoroughly enjoyed the work,” said Birch-Jones. “I am looking forward to continuing to serve my community in working with the Board as Electoral Area B Director.”

The SLRD is governed by an 11-member board of directors consisting of four electoral area directors and seven municipal directors (one director from the District of Lillooet, one director from the Village of Pemberton, two directors from the Resort Municipality of Whistler and three directors from the District of Squamish). 

Regional district board composition and voting strength are determined by the formula set out in section 196(2) of the Local Government Act (LGA). 

While municipal directors are appointed to the SLRD Board by their respective municipal councils, electoral area directors are elected in each electoral area during the General Local Election. 
The positions of chair and vice-chair are elected annually by the SLRD Board of Directors. The next election for the chair and vice-chair positions will take place in November, 2024.

The current SLRD Board of Directors: 

  • Sal DeMare, Electoral Area A 
  • Vivian Birch-Jones, Electoral Area B
  • Russell Mack, Electoral Area C (Vice-chair
  • Tony Rainbow, Electoral Area D 
  • Laurie Hopfl, District of Lillooet
  • Mike Richman, Village of Pemberton
  • Jack Crompton, Resort Municipality of Whistler
  • Jen Ford, Resort Municipality of Whistler (Chair)
  • Armand Hurford, District of Squamish
  • Chris Pettingill, District of Squamish
  • Jenna Stoner, District of Squamish (currently on leave; this position is temporarily being filled by  Alternate Director, John French)

    - 30 -

About the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District 
Located in southwestern BC, the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) is a local government federation consisting of four member municipalities (the District of Lillooet, the District of Squamish, the Village of Pemberton and the Resort Municipality of Whistler) and four unincorporated, rural electoral areas (A, B, C, and D). Headquartered in Pemberton, which is the approximate geographic centre of the region, the SLRD delivers a wide range of local, regional and sub-regional services to approximately 50,496 residents (2021 Census as certified by the Minister of Municipal Affairs).

The Squamish-Lillooet Regional District is found within the traditional territories of several First Nations, including the Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish), St'át'imc and Lil'wat. Small parts of the SLRD also overlap with the traditional territories of the Stó:lō, Tsleil-Waututh, Nlaka'pamux, Tsilhqot'in, and Secwepemc Nations. While the SLRD does not provide direct services to the residents of the First Nations communities located within the region, the organization is committed to enhancing relations with the Indigenous communities and First Nations within whose territories the SLRD operates.

Applicable service
Notice type(s)
Media contact

SLRD Communications
Telephone: (604) 894-6371 x260
Email: communications@slrd.bc.ca